On Wisconsin

Marinette, pt 1

We’re here!  Julie and I left New London today just as the Minnesotan accent began creeping into our speech.  Now we’re in Marinette, where my folks live and more or less grew up.  By the time we leave here we’ll be talking like Yoopers.

It was an absolute joy hanging out with Julie’s family.  My kind of people.  I now have a more complete picture her family and the origins of their personalities and favorite pastimes.

There will be more info on Marinette and my family in the days to come.   Before I sign off though here a few notes about Pixar’s new film Wall•E, which I watched a few days ago with the awesome in-laws mentioned above.

Wall•E is easily my favorite film in the Pixar collection.  It had me at the first frame.  Fantastic animation (grainy wasteland atmosphere in particular), skillful character development and voicings, and great robot pathos.  Highly recommended.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

