Ikebana

[Julie]

I will be teaching English at an agricultural college in Shichinohe, a town about a half hour drive from Noheji.  My main office is also in Shichinohe.  The college offered to have me take two of their classes, ikebana (traditional Japanese flower arranging) and a tea ceremony class.  I took them up on both offers and attended the first ikebana session last night.

Sunset before class

Sunset before class

All of the materials were provided.

Flowers, clippers, water basin, and spiked holder

Flowers, clippers, water basin, and spiked holder

The class was conducted entirely in Japanese (of course), but I’m pretty sure the only thing the teacher said at the beginning was “ready…go!”  After one attempt of creating beauty and balance, the teacher would do some tweaking here and there, and have us try again.

My final product

My final product

My next visit to the agricultural college will be for the first tea ceremony class.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

