Flute music for my students

[Julie]

During my introduction lesson, which I give during my first time to a new class, I mention that I like to play the flute.  One teacher asked me to play for her students the next time I came.  She requested that I play some Christmas songs.  I incorporated this November Christmas Special in a lesson with the target phrases “Yes, I can,” and “No, I can’t.”  For the first part of the lesson, my flute was hidden away from the 6 and 7 year-olds and a box full of maracas, tambourines, castanets, jingle bells, and a harmonica were up front.  I would ask a student, “Can you play the tambourine?”  If they responded, “Yes, I can,” they were then able to demonstrate for the class.  As you might imagine, the other target sentence, “No I can’t,” was neglected.

At the end of the lesson, their homeroom teacher asked me, “Can you play the flute?”

After “Jingle Bells,” “We Wish You a Merry Christmas,” a classical Japanese New Year’s song, and “Hedwig’s Theme” from Harry Potter, I played what turned out to be their favorite: the Doraemon theme song.  Everyone, including the teacher, enthusiastically sang along.

I’m pretty sure that someone at every school that I’ve visited (8 in all) has asked me if I like Doraemon.  This television series, starring a time traveling cat robot, is something that I have yet to see other than on YouTube or in various plush forms, often adorning dashboards and phone charms.  I get the impression that his popularity in Japan can be comparable with Sesame Street in America.  The two actually debuted one month apart from each other in the winter of 1969.  At that time, Doraemon was a popular manga (Japanese comic) and was later turned into a TV series which still runs today.  The popularity of Doraemon is widespread.

Everyone sing along!  Pay attention to the tricky flute introduction.  Yikes!  I played up until Doraemon and the boy are flying over the clouds into the sunrise. Watch the whole episode if you like; I found one that provides English subtitles.

Tags:

One Response to “Flute music for my students”

  1. Mom in AK Says:

    I cheer every time you use your flute! Cute song that Doraemon has. I can just imagine a classroom of kids singing along with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

