Teaching

[Taylor]

This week I wanted to incorporate some sort of Halloween theme into my lessons without going over the top. I asked Julie for some advice and she came up with a great idea: Describe a monster to your students (It has one big eye, a triangle head, snakes for hair, and three arms, etc) and have them draw it on a piece of paper. It was a perfect warm-up before diving into some more conversational English.

However, one of the classes where I conducted the activity was a little restless. They’re the kind of class that quiets down when you tell them to and then thirty seconds later start back up again. They’re good kids, they’re not trying to be mean to me and the other teacher, they just can’t help themselves.

Anyway, during the warm-up I told them to be quiet a few times and decided to change it up a little. In a quiet, almost whispering voice I told them that we needed to be quiet because we didn’t want to wake up the monster. The room went completely silent and I had their full attention. It was great, but the weird thing was that they had no idea what I just said. I’m pretty sure I could have said anything (for example, “Yesterday I watched the trailer for “Tron 2″ and was disappointed because it looks like they’re trying too hard.”) and the students would have reacted the same way.

The teacher I was working with was equally surprised and when I looked at her she was trying very hard not to laugh, which made me laugh, which made the students laugh, and thirty seconds later they resumed their good-natured but disruptive small talk.

Leave a Reply

